About us

Sundaymorning@ekwc is an international artist-in-residence and centre-of-excellence for ceramics. For over 50 years, artists, designers and architects from all over the world have worked here to experiment with clay. The experiments result in both special works of art and technical innovations. The works developed here are shown in museums from New York to Tokyo. What makes Sundaymorning@ekwc special is the combination of world-class facilities, the presence of consultants with internationally leading technical knowledge and the openness to freely share recipes, processes and innovations.

The centre is located in the former dyeing and tannery of the Royal United Leather Factory in Oisterwijk, the Netherlands. A monumental building that was once the largest leather factory in Europe. A place where history, inspiration and making are combined for more than a century.

Mission

Sundaymorning@ekwc’s mission is to further develop the material ceramics and to promote its application in art, design and architecture.

history

The history of Sundaymorning@ekwc starts on December 7, 1969 in Heusden. The Ceramic Work Centre (KWC) was founded on the initiative of ceramicist Jan Oosterman and curator Bernardine de Neve of Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen. At that time, the centre was primarily intended to provide Kiln facilities. It soon became clear that this was not only efficient, but that it also promoted collaboration and knowledge exchange.

The number of facilities has grown over the years. The KWC offered workshops and seminars and contacts with museums, galleries and (potential) art buyers. In 1991 the centre moved to larger premises in ‘s-Hertogenbosch. Due to new, international ambitions, the name changed to EKWC (European Ceramic Work Centre). Thanks to 11 studios spread over two floors, 45 artists-in-residence could be welcomed per year.

The mix of facilities, knowledge and contacts offer career opportunities. Not only for skilled ceramicists, but also for other disciplines. Since the early 1990s, more and more non-ceramicists have registered for a working period. The resulting experiment, technical development and dynamic ensured that the centre occupied an increasingly relevant position in the field of ceramics; indirectly the EKWC influences the (international) world of art, design and architecture

In 2015 the centre moved to its current location. With 16 workspaces, the current building offers the possibility to welcome 60 participants every year. In addition to a studio and apartment, artists-in-residence gain access to the workshop with various kilns, a specialized team, a plaster, glaze, wood, metal and research department, a spray booth and a library that is accessible day and night.

Thanks to the spacious building, Sundaymorning@ekwc is now able to also receive general public, higher education and business groups. The centre frequently collaborates with international art academies, scientific institutes, galleries, museums and the (ceramic) industry. Knowledge acquired in both technical and artistic fields is recorded, made available and distributed internationally in the form of masterclasses, exhibitions and publications as before.

Experienced artists and young talents work side by side at Sundaymorning@ekwc. Over the years, the institute has received many talents and renowned names for a working period, such as Tony Cragg, Anish Kapoor, Jose Maria Sicilia, Kimpei Nakamura, Jun Kaneko, Karin Arink, Thom Puckey and Tom Claassen.

Click here for more information about the history of Sundaymorning@ekwc

staff

Sander Alblas | sander@ekwc.nl
Consultant 3D and digital

Bianca van Baast 
Library

Froukje van Baren | froukjeb@ekwc.nl
General consultant

Linda Barkhuijsen | linda@ekwc.nl
Housekeeping

Yves Brandsma | yves@ekwc.nl
Maintenance

Annelies Broenink | annelies@ekwc.nl
Tours and events

Annette van den Hout | annette@ekwc.nl
Administration

Jorgen Karskens | jorgen@ekwc.nl
Business director

Katrin König | katrin@ekwc.nl
General consultant

Debbie Lutter 
Workshop assistant

Tjalling Mulder | tjalling@ekwc.nl
General consultant

Mieke Montagne | mieke@ekwc.nl
General consultant

Monique Ouwers | monique@ekwc.nl
Housekeeping

Pierluigi Pompei | pierluigi@ekwc.nl
Consultant mold-making

Bas Schouten | bas@ekwc.nl
Coördinator EKWC shop

Leslie Segeren | leslie@ekwc.nl
Housekeeping

Nico Thöne | nico@ekwc.nl
Project manager

Ranti Tjan | ranti@ekwc.nl
Director

supervisory board

Amo Bosman (partner Deloitte)
Irene Fortuyn (artist)
Thomas Eyck (owner design label t.e.)
Anne Wenzel (artist)
Tet Reuver (independant consultant)

The board works completely unpaid

anbi

Sundaymorning@ekwc is qualified as Cultural ANBI: a non-profit Public Benefit Organization.

VAT number: NL 0029 200 62 B01

address: see contact details

supervisory board: see board

For an overview of 2019:

Annual report 2019: download here
Financial statement 2019: download here